Real Talk

[Credit: Rudy Francisco]

This is the way I want to be loved–this is the way every girl deserves to be loved. The kind of love that appreciates and celebrates our “audacity to be beautiful,” beautiful in our minds, our hearts, our dreams, and even our shoes: this is the kind of love I aspire to.

I promise to love you like it’s the only thing I’ve ever done correct.

I want–I deserve–someone who is brave. Someone who has the courage to risk pain, disappointment, and broken promises, just so we can realize everything we could possibly be. Someone who can cast fear aside for the opportunity to say, “I’ve never told anyone that before.” Someone who is strong enough to deal with his past without expecting me to be the antidote. Someone who can overcome insecurity and trust me to love him.

I want to be your ex-boyfriend’s stuntman. I want to do everything that he never had the courage to do.

And in return, I will do the same.

3 thoughts on “Real Talk

  1. I love Rudy! I had the privilege to see him perform this poem and other pieces and my heart just about melted. Hearing this live sounds way better than on my iTunes… but would be best seen in action by a guy.

  2. Pingback: Highest Resolution « Suit Yourself

Leave a comment